skip navigation

Florida Everblades Make History

By JEB Staff, 06/09/24, 10:45AM EDT


The Florida Everblades became the first team in ECHL' s 36-year history to win three consecutive Kelly Cup titles.  

Before a standing-room only home crowd, the Everblades captured the 2024 Kelly Cup title with a 4-3 OT win over the Kansas City Mavericks in game five of the finals.  Their fourth title and the team's 12 consecutive series wins also set ECHL records. 

Kelly Cup Championships

2024 - Florida defeated Kansas City , 4 games to 1

2023 - Florida defeated Idaho, 4 games to 0

2022 - Florida defeated Toledo, 4 games to 1

2012 - Florida defeated Las Vegas, 4 games to 1

The crowd was electric as the Everblades clawed their way back from a 3-1 deficit starting the third period.  Mark Senden scored a pair of goals that tied it up, forcing the game into overtime.  

As the chant "We Want the Cup" raised the roof of Hertz Arena, Wedman buried the game winner at 3:38 of OT sealing the Everblades Kelly Cup hattrick.